Maple Chia Porridge

Got Snow?

My visit to Canada introduced me to many new flavors and experiences. Aside from the obvious differences between Northern Ontario and North Florida, like the weather and landscape, there was chaga tea, maple syrup and my new favorite ingredient maple butter; a creamy maple product made from cooking down the maple syrup, cooling it and then whipping it. Though maple syrup is a cooked product I feel that it is an acceptable addition to my kitchen quiver of ingredients. I’m already gadgeting ideas in my head of confectionery creations that I can make with maple products. Recently I made this yummy chia porridge using the ingredients listed:

  • 1/2 C chaga tea
  • 3 T chia
  • 2 T gojis
  • 1 T maple butter or agave, palm sugar
  • 1 T hemp butter or your favorite raw nut/seed butter
  • 1 T vanilla water -soaked vanilla beans blended in water
  • 1 T maca blend – maca, lucuma, mesquite, cinnamon
  • 1/4 C hot water
  • pinch of Himalayan salt

For this recipe you can use your favorite tea. Something with a bit of spice to it might be nice. Chaga has a mild and slight vanilla taste. Soak the chia and gojis in the tea or water in a bowl for a half hour. You can set things up to soak the night before and have it waiting for you in the morning. Take 1/4 C of the soaked chia and goji mixture and add it to the blender, add the hot water, hemp butter, vanilla, maca blend and salt. Blend smooth and add mixture to the chia mix remaining in the bowl. Mix everything together. You can sprinkle hemp seeds and cacao nibs on top.

That’s it, a yummy, warming, healthy, vegan breakfast creation that will blow your mind.

Maple Chia Porridge

2 Comments

Filed under blog, How To, Raw Food Adventures, Recipe

2 responses to “Maple Chia Porridge

  1. christy

    Cool post, makes me miss the snow:) I never really got the whole porridge concept before since I always thought of cooked oatmeal when I heard “porridge” but your description turned the light on for me…finally I get how to make raw porridge! thanks

  2. Hehehe, great to see you in the snow! Loving all the porridges we made up here!

    XOXO

Leave a comment