Bugs, Butterflies and Bees, Oh my!

spanning the gap

spanning the gap

The past few days have been an adventure in all things flying, crawling, buzzing and stinging. I’m fascinated by the world of pollinators particularly bees and butterflies. Eventually I’ll invest in a camera that will allow me to capture an image of them doing a job that is integral to the survival of most of the planets inhabitants. Lizards too, I’m fascinated by lizards as you can see…

The other day while on a durian hunt at an across town Asian market I came across this insect specimen in the grocer’s freezer section next to the frozen steamed buns and mochi ice cream. There were no instructions on the packet for preparation. Any suggestions out there?

Got bugs?

Got bugs?

The next day I did some yard work and came across a swallow tail butterfly who’d seen better days. I decided to move the little guy over to the butterfly garden for safety sake.

Swallow Tail rescue... not really

Swallow Tail rescue... not really

Cicadas, what’s up with these loud, thick headed kamikaze freaks? I got hit 3 times in the course of a couple hours. I pulled out my camera to take a picture of one that buzzed me. It had the most amazing little ruby speckles between it’s reflective eyes. As I was pulling out my camera a black and white wasp about the size of a humming bird hoovered into view. I was thinking he wanted his picture taken as well. No sooner than I set up to take its picture did it zero in on the cicada and put a death grip upon it. This was about as cool as the time I watched a rattle snake deep throat a field mouse in Arizona. I was able to snap 2 pictures before the wasp flew off with the cicada. Impressive considering the size of cicadas.

Wasp jumps Cicada

Wasp jumps Cicada

That's gotta hurt...

That's gotta hurt...

And finally to finish the day off another close encounter with wild life… too close. I pissed off a nest of wasps will mulching and one of them decided to pierce my ear. I recently read a chart that rated the description of wasp stings as if they were fine wines. This was definitely a top shelf sting… fiery hot with throbbing pulsations that evolved into puffy numbness with a dash of stabbing heat. Nothing a little aloe, DMSO and MSM can’t handle.

Oh that smarts!

Oh that smarts!

The story doesn’t end here. As I was harvesting fresh aloe for my throbbing ear I was startled to see a Cuban anole (lizard) with that butterfly I had “rescued” gripped firmly in its jaws. Some rescue job. I’m wondering if the wasp sting was instant karma for meddling in lives of butterflies. Live and learn.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bugs, Butterflies and Bees, Oh my!

Leave a Reply

